2008 Financial Goals, A Year End Review

As 2008 came to a close, I began to think about how I did in accomplishing my 2008 goals and how that would effect my 2009 goals. I only accomplished one of my goals, mostly because I didn’t really come up with an action plan to accomplish my goals. I will use 2008’s goal setting experience to better set and accomplish my goals for 2009.

Set up and fully fund a solo 401k ($0/$10,427.33)

I set up a Vanguard Individual 401k on December 26th, which was before the December 31st deadline. Since I beat the deadline, I will be able to fund my 401k until April 15th, the tax filing deadline. It was a pretty painful experience because I had to set up an Employer Identification Number (EIN) and send in proof by the deadline.

Every month I’ve been increasing the maximum value that I can invest for the 2008 tax year as I continued to make more money tutoring. This is the first month that I used a contribution calculator as I’m not able to invest 100% of what I earn, I have to take out certain self-employed taxes. The maximum contribution value is still not finalized, however, as I will modify my net income with the miles traveled for tutoring.

I have not invested anything in my account yet because I was waiting to finish paying off my furniture, TV and buy Christmas gifts. I have some cash left over and will begin investing, hopefully by the end of the month.

Fully fund my Roth IRA ($0/$5,000)

I have decided to fund my solo 401k before my Roth IRA for tax sheltering purposes. If I don’t put all of my self-employed income into a solo 401k, then I will have to pay taxes on both sides of the Medicare and Social Security.

I will most likely not be able to invest in my Roth IRA for the 2008 tax year. I’m not disappointed that I probably won’t be able to fully fund this account. I made the decision to prioritize my condo down payment for this year. It was an extraordinary effort to come up with 20% in such a short period of time.

Save for a 3-month emergency fund ($0/$7,762)

My 3-month emergency fund reflects monthly payments for my mortgage, property taxes, car payment, assessments, car insurance, cell phone, cable, internet, electric bill, gas and food.

For my 2009 goals I might re-prioritize and modify my emergency fund. I’m thinking about dropping my goal down to $1,000 as a true emergency fund. After reaching that goal and saving for my retirement funds, I will try to push it to a 3-month emergency fund, which is designed as insurance against losing my job.

Wrap-Up

Now that my 2008 goals are in the books, I will start finalizing my 2009 goals. Fortunately, I am still able to carry over some of my failed 2008 goals until the tax filing deadline. Overall, I’m very happy with my ability to come up with the down payment. I will put more time into my 2009 goals and try to outline a plan for my goals so that they are more realistic. I will also put out goals for my blogging and other personal issues such as my health and career.

If you like what you have read please consider signing up for automatic updates via e-mail or RSS

mr_1_468x60

One Response to 2008 Financial Goals, A Year End Review

  1. bilal ayub says:

    save money for bad days… because time gives very bad horns … at bad

Leave a Reply

